A 24-Mile Skydive Hopscotch

001

Felix Baumgartner’s 24-mile skydive renewed my childhood interest in space. For years, I dreamed of being an astronaut. I loved looking at the stars and planets, and imagined the billions and billions of worlds out there that Carl Sagan talked so much about.

He inspired my imagination enough that I tinkered with the idea of building a career as an astronaut by way of astronomy. Then, I learned that astronomy required an understanding of physics, and physics required an understanding of math. And, I stopped understanding math when they added letters to it.

As a kid, space was this place where everything opened into infinite possibilities. The universe out there, quiet, was filled with other worlds, other stars, other people, other places. So much to imagine.

I also loved space because it was a place where one could feel and enjoy the quiet of solitude. Floating about like Major Tom seemed very lovely indeed.

But, as I grew older, the sheer wonder of possibilities got ironed out into the infinite reality of being an adult. Getting old in a world where “everything sticks like a broken record.” Job, responsibilities, commute, all building and piling until there was little room to consider possibilities. Just space enough to keep up with the little details of life.

Space, the final frontier, was forgotten.

But Felix’s dive reignited my love for space and all there is out there. Contact.

I shared this love with my son, and now he’s hooked, too. His room is decorated with garlands of spaceships, rockets, robots, and galaxies. His bed is covered with rocket sheets, and he has a new remote controlled robot from another planet that whirls about our house.

He wants a space quilt, and loves to play hopscotch. On a rainy day, I’m hoping this idea will turn into a reality for him as an applique quilt. He helped with the sketch (look closely for the “mete-etors”).

As always, I’ll keep you posted as this progresses.

All photos and content copyright 2013, craftinlightenment.

Leave a Reply

