The Ugliest Quilts on Earth, OR????

Was it something more?

079

When I pulled this out of one of those many storage bins from my crafty area, I wasn’t sure what I’d been thinking when I pieced this together.

Then, there was another one.

084

And another.

069

And strips of blocks to boot.

None of them made sense. A bunch of messy baby blankets that all looked sort of, well,…ugly.

What had I been thinking when I put them together? Why would I make a bunch of crazy looking baby blankets?

Who would I give them to? I started them years before my son was ever thought of–back when none of our friends had kids, when we were all free of children.

I puzzled on it, and did some of that middling I was talking about last night. Next thing I know, it comes to me.

072

Flowers.

078

Stars.

073

Cats.

071

And fish.

086

This was the mystery of how the cat caught the fish. It was meant to be a queen size applique quilt with 12 vignettes telling the cat’s story. But, I’d started it and lost my vision for the story.

So, that’s what I’m starting to work on this week.

That’s why middling is fun.

Oh, and I’m still not sure what to do with this one. Any thoughts?

079

All photos and content © 2013, craftinlightenment.
3 thoughts on “The Ugliest Quilts on Earth, OR????

Leave a Reply

