The Things They Will Become

This week I have been impressed with everyone’s to do lists. G.E. Gallas always seems to be running an ambitious list, and A Little Bird Made Me posted a list of neat plans.

I make lists, too, but they always seem to be more immediate. Get groceries. Pick up dry cleaning. Drop off mail at post office.

Project planning is usually done in my head. A few months ago, Richie Knight at HW Production encouraged me to write down an idea as soon as I have it, even if it is in the middle of the night. That way it won’t get lost. I am only just now getting the hang of this concept.

But, this week, impressed with all of these lists, I asked Eszter, who also has a great running list, how she gets her list going. Her advice was the best of all. She said you just do.

So, here goes. This is a list of a few of the things I have planning, with pictures.

002

Plan One: This coffee can will become a homemade twirling night light that puts a pattern on the wall. My son would love to have a dreamlite, but they seem very limiting. They only have one light pattern, and I think it would be neat to have interchangeable patterns that he could enjoy at different times. We have the light kit and nuts and bolts to attach everything to a base, but this project requires a motor. That means a trip to Radio Shack most likely.

004

Plan Two: This egg carton will become a papier-maiched jewelry box. Just for earrings. The indent in the top of the box is just perfect for placing your earrings for the next day…ready to go!

006

Plan Three: This toilet paper roll will become a travel jewelry box, covered with fabric inside and out that contains a small insert that holds a necklace, bracelet, and earring set.

Of course, the point of  craftinlightenment is to get rid of stuff in my crafty area. So these projects will serve a dual purpose because they will also allow me to do some beading and get all that jewelry work out of my workspace.

005

Plan Four: This Coke bottle and 9 of its friends will become ten bowling pins. A nice fabric ball will be made to join them to make a bowling game for my son.

003

Plan Five: This peanut butter jar will become a snow globe.

Plan Six: Something with this neat-shaped container…Maybe y’all have some good ideas for this little container…I’d love to hear them!

186

All photos and content, © 2013, craftinlightenment.

 

5 thoughts on “The Things They Will Become

  1. I just found your blog today and it’s great, I love all the ideas and posts you have here. Have you started or finished any of these yet? I’m really keen to see how the jewelry boxes come out ❤

  2. Pingback: Keeping It Simple with Mod Podge | craftinlightenment

Leave a Reply

