An Advent Calendar

Now, I know Christmas is a long way away–even farther away than the Halloween I talked about in my last post. But, a couple of years ago, I made a few felt trees which I gave to my goddaughter as a sort of Advent calendar.

There were 7 trees and 24 stars on popsicle sticks. Sit them out on a table, and each week update the numbers. Beads, buttons and stitches of all sorts decorated each tree. They all stood on their own, but were meant to be sort of floppy and Charlie-Brown-like.

It was a start on an idea that I wanted to go somewhere else with.

180

This is the first tree on the new idea. Twenty-four trees, each decorated on the front only. Each tree sewn to a quilt. A quilted star above each tree. Beneath each tree, a tree stand pocket. Inside the pocket, something fun for each day of Advent.

That should get those beads and buttons on their way out of my crafty area. And, it should make a great heirloom Advent calendar for my son that he can enjoy for years to come.

All photos and content © 2013, craftinlightenment.
Leave a Reply

