A Tale of Two Quilts

One of the things about my work that y’all all should know by now: it is never perfect.

In fact, it is the very opposite of perfect. Most the time my work is born of an idea that has not yet been fully realized. A thought, coupled with the random moment between work, husband, kid, and sleep, becomes a project. Usually, in the waning hours of the day, it begins and is wrapped up within a couple of hours.

For a few days, or even a few months, and in some cases, a few years, I may think of an idea. It brews and stews, and then, one day, I know it is time to get it done. Once the first project is done, I learn from the work of it, and the next project tells its tale.

With other things, I start with a thought. Change my mind about it mid-way, put it down, and then feel obligated to see it through.

In high school, I was best friends with a guy, Zack Arias, who has since become an amazing photographer, who tends to suggest that the only way to get better is to get better by plodding through even the worst ideas and learning from them. (Truth is–he always had a vision–and, certainly, without me, he has made it real. Although, I miss the times it was with me–we had a lot of fun talking back then!)

For years, I have liked block quilts. Don’t get me wrong…for you quilting experts out there, they are the easiest of the easy–so you hate on the fact they are no art form. I get that. But, I like them. It’s because I just like big blocks of color and pattern. Always have.

So, here are two block quilts. The first is now my son’s favorite blanket. (It’s always nice to have a fan who loves your work unconditionally!)

copyright 2013, craftinlightenment

copyright 2013, craftinlightenment.

The second is a quilt I donated to a silent auction to help some friends go on a trip to Nicaragua to build a house for some folks who aren’t fortunate enough to be able to complain about first-world problems like we in the U.S. can. These friends have a welcoming statement that can’t be beat!

copyright 2013, craftinlightenment.

copyright 2013, craftinlightenment.

The first quilt rests on my son’s bed–it has to be on top of all the other covers. The second has brightened a good friend’s niece’s day.

These two imperfect things have been just the thing to brighten my evenings this week.

All photos and content © 2013, craftinlightenment.
5 thoughts on “A Tale of Two Quilts

  1. Pingback: A Tale of Two Quilts | Everything Handmade

  2. I have found that if it’s “perfect” than it’s not handmade. Handmade items are a lot more treasured than “perfect” machine made items. Me…I’ll take imperfect every time. I think both quilts are very nice. Keep up the good work.

  3. When I was complaining about not having my quilt blocks squared up properly a great friend of mine reminded me of the Amish, who in making a quilt, make sure that they make an error, as it is important to remember that we are human, and not perfect, because only God is perfect (or words to that effect!). So I am now quite comfortable with my far from perfect quilts – because they bring joy anyway, and are a reminder that I am human.
    I like both of your efforts!

Leave a Reply

