Make Lemonade, Right?

OK, I have to admit it. I hate these things.

078

My father’s mother always said that hate was too strong a word, and it should never be used. But, there is no other word that quite gets at how I feel about these deal-i-doos.

They trim the foam squares that puzzle piece together to make a great play mat for my son. Although I love the foam squares, these trim pieces are the bane of my existence.

See, my son insists on separating them from the mat, and throwing them all over the house. When he’s not throwing them, he’s hiding them someplace where they will surprise me when I am cleaning.

It seems there are millions of them, multiplying like rabbits, and they never get put away. Even when they are put away, they make a mess.

So, possessed by my ill will for them, I thought it might be a good idea to make lemonade out of lemons when I caught my son scooting around on them like skis.

I got some old jeans that were worn beyond even that super comfortable stage. Using the perfect purse template idea, I sewed a pocket out of the jeans, and tipped them with a curved end.

079

(Whoo! Check out those dirty toes–leftovers from a painting project earlier in the day that went awry.)

Then, I sewed up some straps with a fabric my son chose because it was bright and pretty. Thank goodness! No more lemons.

084

082

We’ll make his mate tomorrow. We will also need some poles. Would love to hear your ideas for how to make poles so that we can ski all year round, round and round our house!

All photos and content © 2013, craftinlightenment.
3 thoughts on “Make Lemonade, Right?

  1. Pingback: Weathering the Storms | craftinlightenment

Leave a Reply

