A Great Low Key Birthday Present

A couple of weeks ago, I celebrated my 40th birthday with a big party.

Unlike my 16th birthday, where I got to drive, and my 21st birthday, where I got to drink, my 40th birthday, despite the big party, was pretty low key.

Just good friends talking and enjoying time together to the sounds of very low and quiet music. See, we’re getting old, and we want to hear each other actually talk.

I didn’t realize exactly how low key it was, however, until one of my best friends–my son’s godmother–who is, in fact, younger (much younger) than I, pulled out her knitting! Yep, that’s right, folks, you turn 40 and people knit at your party.

Turns out, this is what she was working on: an Easter Bunny for my goddaughter.

Sarah's Bunny Rabbit

When you’re working on a deadline, every minute counts in crafting. So, she figured since it was a low key event…what’s knitting between friends?

Indeed.

Then, she gave me one of the best presents ever. As we all teased her about knitting at a party, she said, “Well, it’s because of you and your darned crafty blog! It’s gotten me inspired to craft again!”

Well, indeed.

Thanks for the best low key birthday present ever!

All content © 2013, craftinlightenment. Photo © 2013, S.V.W.

BTW, I would be remiss if I didn’t include that my son’s godmother made this using yarn left over from a Christmas wreath project, and she got the totally free pattern at: http://www.heartstringsfiberarts.com/bunny-pattern.shtm.

5 thoughts on “A Great Low Key Birthday Present

  1. Pingback: We Came, We Saw, We Conquered! | craftinlightenment

  2. Pingback: Happy Crafthday! | craftinlightenment

Leave a Reply

