What to Do? What to Do?

We have a great dry cleaner. Athens West does a wonderful job with all of our clothes. But, like all humans, they are not perfect. A few weeks ago, I took them 29 suits and 2 dresses–a year’s worth of cleaning. (Normally I use dryel until the clothes need a better cleaning than I can give them at home.)

All the suits and one of the dresses were returned to me in a few days in mint shape, like brand new. But, sadly, one of the dresses didn’t come back clean. In fact, it came back color stained. This had never happened before, but I was overwhelmed when I picked up the dress to see this note on it:

017 (12)

When I picked up the dress and the owner recognized the note, she apologized profusely. It was a wonderful customer experience.We all make mistakes. Even the best can make a mistake every now and then.

Because the owner was so gracious, I didn’t even have a thought of getting upset about it. She credited me for the loss, gave me the dress, and apologized. I couldn’t ask for a better or more caring cleaner.

018 (11)

But, despite the great customer experience, I am left with a favorite dress that can’t be worn anymore. I loved this dress a lot, and don’t want to just junk it or give it away. So, what to do? What to do?

The dress has a great flower embellishment with rhinestones on it that I have always loved. And, a pink belted waist sewn into its body. Spaghetti straps and a nice satin lining. So, it has some great elements for reuse.

225

I’ve considered all types of ideas for reusing it, but am not set on anyone of them in particular. So, I ask you, wonderful readers, to offer up your ideas. What would you do with this dress? What would you make it into so that it is new again and can still be enjoyed?

Can’t wait to hear your ideas!

All photos and content © 2013, craftinlightenment.
One thought on “What to Do? What to Do?

Leave a Reply

