Twin Comforter–The Epic Project

Back in May, I saw my cousin at a party. She shared with me a project she started at Christmas that she thought would be easy. It was a wreath that she saw on Pinterest that looked like it would take an hour or so.

But, hours later as she was gluing hundreds of little pieces of material to a wreath shape, she realized she bought on for an epic project. No small feat for a mother of 4 who is constantly busy.

Now, I feel her pain. Back in February, I told you about a puffy comforter that I was getting started.

When I first saw the idea in one of my favorite craft books from the 1970s, I thought it would be a quick turn-around–just a simple afternoon project that would be done in a jiffy.

Well, here we are in July, and it’s still not done. No jiffy here–just an epic project.

It started when I cut what seemed like hundreds of fabric rectangles.  Then, I machine stitched 48 pockets out of the fabric rectangles.

034 (8)

After I got the pockets together, I stuffed them with polyfill.

006 (16)

Next, I machine stitched all of them with my favorite firestitch edge to make 48 pillows.

011 (13)

Once I got the pillows all made, I started to think about the pattern.

053 (5)

I lay them out to make sure the pattern was just right. My son, unhappy with the original design, thought the “patt-er-ren” needed a little adjusting. See his adjustment? (Not sure that will remain in the final product!)

056 (4)

And, then, I started whipstitching!

As I sit and whipstitch these pillows together, I think of Lawrence of Arabia, Doctor Zhivago, Gone with the Wind and Ben Hur. Epic films that highlight the epic nature of this project.

But, just like those films, the joy is all the twists and turns throughout. Thankfully, we are already past intermission and should see an end soon, slow and steady, to win the race of seeing this project complete!

All photos and content © 2013, craftinlightenment.
2 thoughts on “Twin Comforter–The Epic Project

Leave a Reply

