Haute Couture Paper Dolls

Even though I am not generally a doll person–never have been–I have always LOVED paper dolls. Don’t know why, but there is something so neat about the two-dimensional object they are.

It used to be such an exciting thing to get a paper doll! I loved punching out the body, then then clothes, and then playing dress up with the dolls.

A few days ago, we got some J. Crew catalogs in the mail that had a few perfect paper-doll-sized pictures. So, I cut them out.

029 (9) 030 (9)

I also cut out some clothes.

Naturally, of course, the clothes are not fitted to the dolls. The photos of the dolls were enlarged just enough so that they don’t work together.

At first, I thought I would just enlarge clothes or reduce the size of the dolls using our copier, but there are more fun creative possibilities if I just live with what I have. So, I am currently in the process of making some clothes that will fit the dolls, and some dolls that will fit the clothes.

Once everything is ready, all the pieces will be glued to a light cardboard from a shirt box and mod podged, and then they will be some haute couture paper dolls!

All content © 2013, craftinlightenment.
In today’s installment, I claim no copyright to the photos in the J. Crew catalog, as they are copyright of J. Crew. I took photos of the pictures I cut out of the catalogs merely to demonstrate how this craft is made.
One thought on “Haute Couture Paper Dolls

Leave a Reply

